Cambern Feted for Fellowship, Service by Guild

Donn Cambern displays the Guild's inaugural Fellowship and Service Award

Former Motion Picture Editors Guild President Donn Cambern, ACE, was awarded the Guild’s inaugural Fellowship and Service award in front of over a hundred adoring friends and colleagues at the Guild’s annual Installation Banquet at the California Yacht Club in Marina del Rey, California on Saturday, January 6.

The award was presented by IATSE President Tom Short, who paid tribute to Cambern’s ability to bring people together at a time of great change for the Guild and the industry. Cambern’s tenure as Guild president came at a time of unprecedented technological innovation and expansion for the Editors Guild. Remarks were also made by Guild Vice President Carol Littleton, Guild Executive Director Ron Kutak and Board member Jeff Burman.

The design of the handsome crystal award was spearheaded by Board members Maysie Hoy, ACE, and Sharon Smith Holley and created by artist Stephen Schlanser. It was inspired by the Motion Picture Editors Guild logo and is a tribute to the forward-looking sensibility of Cambern, who was instrumental in bringing the original logo design to the Guild from his friend, the late title designer Saul Bass. The Guild logo draws together the three primary aspect ratios—or screen dimensions—in filmmaking.

The Guild's inaugural Fellowship and Service Award, created by artist Stephen Schlanser

The Award salutes individuals who embody the values the Guild holds most dear: Professionalism, Collaboration, Mentorship, Generosity of Spirit and Commitment to the Labor Movement.

Aside from Hoy and Smith Holley, who oversaw the design, the Guild’s Award Committee consisted of Burman and Alan Heim, ACE (concept and idea of the award); Diane Adler, ACE, and Suhail F. Kafity, MPSE (logistics of the selection of recipient and presentation of the award); and Martin Levenstein (chairman).

Also, publicist Lea Yardum donated her time to publicize the event, as did Michael Marlett, Hoy’s husband, who designed the lighting to illuminate the award at the dinner. In addition, Hoy sewed the purple velvet bag to hold the award, arranged for the embroidery and provided the velvet table covering. The Guild’s Executive Administrator Lisa Dosch oversaw the creation of the program booklet.

IATSE President Tom Short, left, congratulates Cambern on receiving the award

At the dinner, the newly elected, or re-elected, Board members––Damian Begley; Ernest Boyd; David Bruskin; Robert Deschaine, CAS; Marty Heselov; Hoy; John Lafferty; F. Hudson Miller; Jill Piwowar; Carrie Puchkoff; Karen Rasch; Gary Ritchie; Smith Holley; and Pam Wise––were welcomed. Also, outgoing Board members––Samuel C. Crutcher, Dave Jackson, Marc Laub, John Roesch and E. Sidney Wolinsky––were presented with plaques of appreciation for their service by Littleton.



Cambern with legendary editor Dede Allen










Cambern with his wife Pat and son Clay, who is an assistant editor

[ return to top ]