User Login 
    Remember My Login 
Quick Links
Contact Us
Site Map

From the Guild



National Executive Director Ron Kutak is flanked by new Guild President Danny Cahn, A.C.E., and outgoing President Lisa Churgin, A.C.E.


Guild Installation Dinner Welcomes

New Officers and Board Members


by Jeff Burman

photos by Wm. Stetz


The Motion Picture Editors Guild held its annual Installation Dinner on January 8 at the Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica Hotel.  The dinner recognizes newly elected and departing Board members, and gives the Guild staff a chance to mingle with the Board over dinner.


The Guild celebrated the election of a new President, Danny Cahn, A.C.E., formerly a Picture Editor representative on the Board; and a new Vice President, John Trask, formerly a Recordist representative.



Guild Vice President John Trask and his wife Andee at the Installation Dinner.


There are four new faces of the 2011 Board: Donovan Jenks, representing Lab Film Technicians and Cinetechnicians; Glenn Morgan, MPSE, Sound Editors; Jay Palmer, Maintenance Engineers; and Greg Tarnowski, Recordists.


Re-elected to their positions were Board officers Diane Adler, A.C.E., Secretary; Louis Bertini, MPSE, Second Vice President; Bill Elias, Sergeant-at-Arms; and Rachel Igel, Treasurer; as well as Board members Harry Peck Bolles, Eastern Region; Jeff Burman, Sound Editors; Alan Heim, Picture Editors (formerly Vice President); Nancy Richardson, A.C.E., Picture Editors; and Gregg Rudloff, Re-Recording Mixers. 


New Board members include Greg Tarnowski, representing Recordists, left; Jay Palmer, Maintenance Engineers; and Donovan Jenks, Lab Film Technicians and Cinetechnicians.


Also returning to the Board are four members representing the Lab technicians, whose local merged into the Guild last August: Joe Aredas, Jr., Charles Benci III, Frank Delgado, Jr. and Christi Moore.  They had seats on the Board in the latter part of 2010, but faced their first election as members of the Editors Guild last December.


All were officially welcomed and sworn in earlier in the day at the morning Board meeting.


Several Board members are not returning for the 2011 term of office.  Each were thanked for their service to the Guild and presented with a gift by incoming President Cahn.  Those not returning include Joe Aredas, Lab Technicians; Ernest Boyd, Eastern Region; Paul Covington, Picture Editors; Sam Crutcher, Sound Editors; and Scott Young, Maintenance Engineers. 


Guild President Danny Cahn, A.C.E., right, presents outgoing Board member Paul Covington with a gift.


Notable among those not returning is outgoing President Lisa Churgin, A.C.E.  The three-term President was warmly thanked by National Executive Director Ron Kutak and, in turn, acknowledged the many accomplishments made by the Editors Guild over her nine years in office.  Among the accomplishments during Churgin’s tenure were the Guild’s expanded training programs in both the Los Angeles and the New York offices, the creation of a Membership Services Department, the redesign of the Guild website and the winning of several awards by Editors Guild Magazine.


Also during the Churgin administration, the Editors Guild bought out its partner, the International Cinematographers Guild, to purchase the other half of the building that the Guilds had shared in Los Angeles, and also bought new offices in Manhattan.  The Fellowship and Service Award––recognizing individuals who embody the values of Professionals, Collaboration, Mentorship, Generosity of Spirit and Commitment to the Labor Movement––was created.  The Guild also merged with Local 683, the Lab Technicians, bringing membership to over 7,000. 



Guild Accounting Manager Meleney Humphrey addresses the crowd after being honored for her 20 years service to the Guild.


Also at the dinner, the Guild’s Accounting Manager, Meleney Humphrey, was acknowledged for her 20 years of service, and presented with a gift.



Los Angeles:
7715 Sunset Boulevard, Suite 200
Hollywood, CA 90046
(323) 876-4770
 Find us on
 Find us on
New York:
145 Hudson Street, Suite 201
New York, NY 10013
(212) 302-0700

(800) 705-8700 • webmaster

Copyright © 2008 Motion Picture Editors Guild, IATSE Local 700, All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy